Festival fallout

I’d like to start by saying how wonderful it was to receive so much positive feedback from so many people.  That has meant a lot to me and pointed my work, and exhibition next year, firmly in a couple of directions.  I’ll post more of these ideas shortly.  It was quite something to talk about my pictures with complete strangers and that’s helped me get a very clear idea of what my work is about.  I really enjoyed having friends drop by too: some of you were clearly surprised but in the nicest way I think.   Then, of course, it was great to sell my pictures – though the first time a couple of them walked out of the door felt a little strange.  I sold four framed copies and seven prints – so eleven in all – ten was my original goal so I’m pleased.  Here are the ones that sold:

Äsperöd Gnarly (900 x 754) R2200 framed (sold); R1350 print

Äsperöd Gnarly

Äsperöd Gnarly

Aurajoki Runic (643 x 900) R1900 framed (sold); R1150 print (sold two prints)

Aurajoki Runic

Aurajoki Runic

Baobab Temple (900 x 378) R1550 framed; R1150 print (sold one print)

Baobab Temple

Baobab Temple

Natalie Metallica (1200 x 800) R2450 framed; R1300 print (sold two prints)

Natalie Metallica

Natalie Metallica

Aloe Skyscape (800 x 680) R2000 framed (sold); R1250 print

Aloe Skyscape

Aloe Skyscape

Lindesnäs Fjordscape (900 x 404) R1650 framed (sold); R1200 print

Lindesnäs Fjordscape

Lindesnäs Fjordscape

Stendörren Dreamscape (1350 x 529) R2200 framed; R1350 print (sold one print)

Stendörren Dreamscape

Stendörren Dreamscape

Okapuka Sunset (1000 x 997) R2750 framed; R1550 print (sold one print)

Namibia Skylight Half Size 150

Okapuka Sunset

Prints are still available of all of these and so are hard copies where indicated. Portals Exhibition – the catalogue has full details for the other pictures as well.  Contact me if you want to place an order.

What were the downsides?

Well, Carinus Annex is very cold to sit in day after day during mid winter and be told that you aren’t allowed to use the electricity for heating!  This seems more than a little strange when you are paying a daily rental fee. It’s also a venue in serious need of a coat of paint and overall refurbishment.  It looks tatty and that’s not a good atmosphere if you are trying to exhibit.  I know it’s ‘only’ a Fringe venue but this also reflects poorly on the Festival.  It’s been my first time exhibiting but I still I got the impression from artists and visitors that visual art as a whole needs some more support: just look at the ugly wire frame stands for example … I had to prop mine up with folded magazines!

Portals exhibition 2016

Portals exhibition 2016

Finally, a big thank you to Harry Owen for helping me to set up and take down the exhibition.

 

 

Leave a Reply

